Beauty Misc.

Etude Dear Darling Water Tint Swatches

Hello, and welcome back to my blog! Today I want to share with you all my first impressions of the water tints by Etude House.

I have actually had these tints in my makeup collection for a while now and had just never used them. I have so many lip products that I was just continuing to use others and not really thinking about these. And to be honest, as much as I love lip tints, I don’t wear them that often. Go figure. But anyway, here are my swatches!

There are five colors in the water tint collection: an orange, a pink, two shades of red, and a very juicy looking purple. All the color names end in “ade” like a drink, as in lemonade. When I was living in South Korea, I found it interesting and fun that they have so many variations of “ade”. Here in the U.S. we really only have lemonade and limeade, and on a rare occasion orangeade. Everything else is just juice lol. Sure, we add flavors to our lemonades and limeades such as cherry limeade, strawberry lemonade, blue raspberry lemonade, etc. But adding “ade” on the end of other drinks isn’t really a thing here. It would just be juice to us.

1.) Orange Ade

I really liked this orange. I love orange on me to begin with when it comes to makeup, and this lip tint did not disappoint. I originally purchased this orange because I was hoping it would replace another Etude orange tint that has been discontinued. While it is not a replacement for that one, it is still really pretty. The color orange looks so pretty on dark brown skin, in my opinion!

Being brown, I have pigmented lips, so for this color, I would need to apply more to my top lip since my top lip is naturally more brown than my bottom one.

2.) Cherry Ade

I found this cherry red lip tint to be so beautiful. When I applied it, the first thing I thought about was warm weather and sunshine and some type of red drink. It’s such a pretty red! It’s not too bright or deep and I think it works with my skin tone very well.

3.) Red Grapefruit Ade

The red grapefruit tint was a little deeper in shade than the cherry. I liked it, but it was giving cold weather vibes to me. On me, I think this would make a nice autumn red.

4.) Strawberry Ade

Strawberry ended up being another favorite of mine in all the swatches. It was red, but more berry toned that worked with my skin tone. This was another color that made me think of spring and sunshine and sparkling fizzy drinks. It’s a juicy color that I really enjoy and I think I will be wearing it once the weather finally warms up where I live.

5.) Grape Ade

Grape Ade was a super juicy purple color that I think would work for any time of year. Purple is my favorite color so I was really feeling this. Including this tint, I only have two purple lip products. It’s definitely not a color that I see people wearing very often. But I liked it a lot. Even though I think the color would work for any season, it does pull more summery in my opinion because it’s such a juicy color with a berry red tone underneath the purple. I can’t describe it any other way other than juicy. And once a gloss is applied overtop, it takes the juiciness to a whole different level!

I also filmed a video of me swatching the colors on my lips so if you would like to see that, please give my video a watch!

If you’ve made it to the end of this post, thank you so much for reading and I’ll be back again soon 🙂

Leave a comment